Penguins’ ice skating rink coming to the South Side

Hey yinz,

How ’bout them Pens?  Yinz Luv Da Guins. Am I right? The Penguins are looking good at the top of the Atlantic division. What’s looking almost as promising is the ice rink that’s being constructed in the South Side.

Did I ever mention that I work in the South Side? Not only do I work in the South Side, but my office is perched three stories above where the Penguins Pond will be: the corner of 26th and Sidney (coincidence?) streets.

For the last couple of weeks, I’ve been documenting the construction of the rink. The construction workers have been working long days to reconstruct the ice rink for the Pittsburgh Winter Classic game. It’s been exciting to see workers put up the boards, lay down dirt and tubing. My efforts culminated in this panoramic photo that I made tonight at my photography class at Pittsburgh Filmmakers:

Panorama of the Penguins Pond in the South Side

Make sure to click on the image to see more detail.  To the left, you can see a man spraying water on the rink. This is the first panorama I’ve made in Photoshop, and I’m quite pleased with the result.

You can come down and get your own pictures, as the ice rink will be open to public skating next Friday, November 18 and will be open through January 8.

Hours:

Monday-Thursday 11 a.m. – 5 p.m.

Friday 11 a.m. – 11 p.m.

Saturday 1 p.m. – 11 p.m.

Sunday 1 p.m. – 8 p.m.

The rink will also host hockey games for the Pittsburgh Amateur Hockey League and Pennsylvania Interscholastic Hockey League. So, maybe I’ll get to see Shaler Area’s hockey team play.

Here are a few more photos from the rink’s construction. I took most of the photos from inside the office. I’ll have to get back to you about whether we’ll be selling executive box seats for the various games. 😉

Ice rink construction progress on November 2
Laying down the dirt on November 2
Rolling out the tubing on November 7
Daylight savings and a long work day are to thank for this picture on November 7
Setting up the bleachers on November 8
This was taken on November 8. It was another late night in the office. The lights will not turn off because of the motion sensor, so please excuse the glare.

Well, I hope yinz like the pictures. The rink is open for private skating parties n’at. Maybe I’ll see yinz at the pond.

-Estelle

One response

  1. Love these photos! And I can’t wait to skate!

    November 11, 2011 at 12:24 pm

Leave a Reply

