Schenley Park and Oakland landscapes

Hey yinzes,

I am a bit of a procrastinator.  Right now, I’m sitting with this month’s book club selection, “Room” by Emma Donoghue, at my side, and I have more than half to finish. With this book, so to put it in a cliche, the book or cup or whatever is half empty.

Anyway, as I said in my last blog post about Scarlett Knob Campground, my homework for my photography class is to take pictures of landscapes. The unpredictable weather we’ve been having has made it difficult to shoot. Last week, I put off my homework until Wednesday night, and it was raining lightly or misting annoyingly all night.  I ran out into the courtyard of my apartment building with my tripod and an umbrella. The pictures turned out surprisingly well. Here’s one:

The camping trip helped me to get most of the landscape shots I needed. However, Scarlett Knob did was surprisingly flat, and I didn’t capture the textures I wanted. So once again, I had to go out to shoot photos the night before it’s due. The forecast showed scattered showers all day, and thick clouds hovered over the city all day. The sky looked bright, colorful, and cloudy. It seemed pre-apocalyptic, as I suppose is expected. But lucky me, it didn’t one drop, and I got some nice photos to edit tomorrow in class at Pittsburgh Filmmakers.

Several of these pictures have a lot of noise… It happens more when I shoot in RAW. I wish that I knew these would come out like this, so I could have tweaked the settings (even though Hipstamatic and Instagram have made the film grain cool again). I’ll reduce the noise on the school computers using Adobe Lightroom.

Does anyone know why these three trees have been planted here?

I took the picture of the sign just in case you didn't believe me.

Phipps Conservatory

There was a nice woman taking a time lapse video of Phipps Conservatory at sunset when I took this shot. We talked for so long that I missed out on the farmer’s market that was just 50 feet away!  On that note, next week’s farmer’s market will be the last, at least a Phipps. It’s 2:30 to 6:30 p.m.

Also, the sizes of these photos are a little off from usual because I tried using Picasa’s photo exporter. The vertical pictures are too big for a blog it seems.

Well, thanks for stopping by! I’ll talk to my professor about the noise in my photos and get back to you.

-Estelle

P.S. I know these weren’t all landscapes. In addition to procrastinating, getting off task is another one of my flaws. 😛

4 responses

  1. Great pictures. The first one did come out so well! Amazing how often procrastination works out. -kate

    October 20, 2011 at 10:06 am

  2. Thanks so much! This only encourages me to keep procrastinating. 😉

    October 20, 2011 at 10:09 am

  3. Ardit

    These make miss Pittsburgh and especially Oakland.

    October 20, 2011 at 6:20 pm

    • Pittsburgh misses you, Ardit! I’ll keep posting, so maybe you’ll visit!

      October 21, 2011 at 12:53 am

Leave a Reply

