Andy Warhol, the pride of Dawson Street

Hey yinz guys,

It’s been a while since I last blogged. That’s mostly because I went camping this weekend (post to follow). On Friday, my sister, brother-in-law, nephew, boyfriend and I went to the Andy Warhol Museum. We got in for free because of the Regional Asset District’s RADical Days, which just ended.

There we saw that Andrew Warhola lived on Dawson Street in Oakland, where I lived for two years as an undergrad. The house is not a museum, so it’s easy to miss. For some reason, I thought that Andy Warhol lived on Parkview Avenue, but now I remember that’s the street where Pitt alumnus Dan Marino grew up. Here’s a picture of the exhibit detailing Andy’s childhood.

My nephew liked exploring the Andy Warhol Museum. He got a free coloring book too.

My nephew looking through an Andy Warhol coloring book

We had a great time seeing old favorites, like the silver clouds, hallway with of Mao Zedong portraits, Brillo boxes, Jackie O photos and so on. The new exhibits were great too. The museum brought out an old Apple painting in honor of Steve Jobs. The Heroes and Villains exhibit by Alex Ross on the seventh floor was also impressive. I appreciated its comprehensiveness, even including childhood drawings of Charlie Brown as different superheroes. The last favorite worth mentioning is the video of The Milk Truck, the Carnegie Mellon University project, that rescues nursing mothers while shaming those who do not welcome public breastfeeding. I hope to see the truck with a giant boob on top driving around town. Unfortunately, if I see it, that means that The Milk Truck is needed, and that’s a shame.

Anyway, you won’t see any photos of any of these neat things here because the museum does not permit photos on any floors except for the first. I still found some interesting things to chronicle.

This neat mirror was in the gift shop of the museum.

This reproduction of the Andy Warhol's Elizabeth Taylor silk screen hangs in the parking garage near the museum.

Thanks for checking out this post! I’ll post something about my weekend camping trip tomorrow.

-Estelle

3 responses

  1. Great pics!

    October 17, 2011 at 11:00 am

  2. Pingback: Teenie Haris, a Pittsburgh story « Pixburgh N'at

Leave a Reply

