Zafira bows out at Club Bellydance

Hey yinz,

Yesterday, you saw the “N’at” post about Zafira Dance Company’s last show. Now, you get to see the “Pix” part.

The Club Bellydance performance at the Kelly-Strayhorn Theater in East Liberty last night was amazing. I’m so glad that I went. It was a neat opportunity to see two different styles of belly dancing from Zafira and Bellydance Supestars. Zafira had a beautiful earthy style with a lot of subtle athletic moves. Bellydance Superstars had flashier routines that incorporated ballet moves and stage characters. Picking a favorite would be like choosing a favorite child. Meaning, I have one, but I’m smart not to tell. Just kidding!

Unfortunately, I don’t have any pictures of Bellydance Superstars because no photography was allowed during their performances.  However, I’m thankful that I got to take pictures of the Zafira dancers for their last dance.

The Kelly-Strayhorn theater bears the name of two Pittsburgh music icons, Gene Kelly and Billy Strayhorn.

I loved this dance because it shows the traditional side of belly dancing. The pots also helped to showcase the ladies' isolations.

I did not compose this picture as well as I would have liked, but I like the concept. I love the rich blue and the pose - so beautiful and strong.

A lot of my pictures are framed in the same way. Part of that is the limitation of my 18-55mm lens, but I also note that I had to shoot in the same spot of the stage to avoid getting people’s heads in the shot. I cropped the last picture for that reason, but I like how it turned out.

Thanks for stopping by! I hope to see these ladies perform again.

*Shimmies*

-Estelle

3 responses

  1. Great photos! You really captured the beauty, movement and colors of the show!

    October 5, 2011 at 4:34 pm

  2. Pingback: Indonesian Cultural Exhibition in Pittsburgh? Ya! « Pixburgh N'at

  3. Great shots & Article! Thanks!

    October 18, 2011 at 4:30 pm

Leave a Reply

