Zafira bellydance company performs last show

Hey yinz,

Last week’s edition of the Pittsburgh City Paper was especially intriguing. If I didn’t pick up the City Paper every week – though I do – the cover of this issue would have pulled me in. The image is of a belly dancer with chocolate-colored curls framing her downcast, knowing eyes. Her hands meet to frame her face and show off the beaded chains that hang  like holiday lights over her tattooed torso. And to the left, next to her ornamented torso are the words, “Last Dance.”

Today, my friend, Kate, and I will witness this last dance. It is the last performance of Zafira Dance Company.

Show starts at 7:30 p.m. at the Kelly-Strayhorn theater in East Liberty

Admission at the door is $25. I’m not sure if you can still get tickets for $20 in advance.

Club Bellydance website

The company isn’t going belly up though. *nudge nudge*  The dance company will disband, but the founders will maintain its dance studio in the South Side and pursue other projects, according to the City Paper. From the sound of the article, it seems like this ending is a new beginning for the dancers, and this performance is a celebration.

I’ve never seen the Zafira Dance Company perform, but I do have an interest in bellydancing. In another life, I was a member of the Panther Belly Dancers, Pitt’s belly dancing student organization. (Here are some pictures from the February recital that I took.) The instructor, Sara DeRoy, also practices and teaches the tribal fusion style  pioneered locally by Zafira.

In the City Paper article, Olivia Kissel, one of the founders, describes the style as earthy and characterized by dancing to different parts of the music simultaneously. In 2000, the Zafira Dance Company formed, and since then, they’ve been traveling the world showing off their dancing style and representing Pittsburgh. Zafira has partnered with Bellydance Superstars to put together tonight’s program, called “Club Bellydance.”

I hope I can take some pictures!

-Estelle

7 responses

  1. Can’t wait!

    October 4, 2011 at 2:08 pm

  2. Pingback: Zafira bows out at Club Bellydance « Pixsburgh N'at

  3. Thank you for your kind words. I just came across this, I wish I could have met you at the show. x Olivia

    October 17, 2011 at 4:37 pm

  4. Thank you for the kind article Estelle!

    October 17, 2011 at 4:38 pm

  5. Pingback: Zafira in the News | Olivia Kissel

  6. michelle

    The Show was amazing!

    October 17, 2011 at 6:52 pm

Leave a Reply

