North Shore Sights

Hey, yinzes,

So how bout them Panthers? Yeah, I don’t really want to talk about the game either, but here’s a recap of the Pitt-Notre Dame game if you want it.  This was my first time attending a Pitt game as an alumni, and even though we had great seats (section 112), I miss banging on the seats and jumping in the student section.

The pictures I took from the game aren’t worth sharing. But I thought that I’d share some pictures from the north shore. My boyfriend and I walked to the David Lawrence Convention Center from Heinz Field.

The Majestic, one of the Gateway Clipper ships and where Shaler Area High School (my other alma mater) hosts its after-prom party!

Beautiful Pittsburgh! How about using this photo as a banner for Pixburgh N'at?

I love these steps. I couldn't get the shot I wanted because there were some tweens playing in the water.

I'd like to know more about this sitting area. It's quite unique but forsaken. The structures are covered in grafitti and there were actually some blankets draped over one of the benches.

Pittsburgh's combined sewer system allows sewage and rain water to mingle during storms. This is one of many advisory areas around the city. It's also a spot frequented by kayakers and ducks.

 

This is the Rachel Carson Bridge. It's one of three matching bridges that stand next to one another. The Andy Warhol Bridge is next and the Roberto Clemente Bridge stands next to PNC Park.

Here’s a link to the Wikipedia page about Pittsburgh’s three sister bridges.

Another view of the Rachel Carson Bridge

Maybe next time, Panthers. Despite the loss, I had a great day on the North Shore and even got a little sunburn on my cheeks – in September!

-Estelle

 

Leave a Reply

