Feeling Wicked

Hey, yinz! I said the singular version of yinz because there’s probably just one of you reading this. Thanks, friend.

Anyway, I just came back from seeing Wicked with my mom and sister at the Benedum Center.  The theater seemed to be full, which is awesome for a Tuesday night. This was my first time seeing it, and of course, I loved it!  The singers were fantastic. The sets were imaginative. And the script was hilarious. I loved the motif of the speechless, oppressed and caged animals and how people unify against a common enemy, even if that enemy is just a scape goat.  This musical definitely bumped up “Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West” in my mental book queue.

Now, to the pictures!  Obviously, I couldn’t take pictures during the show – though I would have loved it!  I enjoyed envisioning how I would capture expressions in dark scenes or bright lights on the gates of Emerald City. These will have to suffice.

This second chandelier shot I got right as the lights started turning down. So, I didn’t have a chance to change the settings. I shot this with f/7.1, ISO 400 and 1/10 sec. exposure time.  My photography professor at Pittsburgh Filmmakers says that brightness is death — there’s no coming back once the data is lost. If I wanted I could lighten this photo, but I like the look, even though it’s underexposed.

I got this one during intermission. This looks like it could be a set for Peter Pan.

Well, if you haven’t see Wicked, I highly recommend it. This show will be showing in Pittsburgh through October 2.  I hope yinzes head dahntahn to see this show!

-Estelle

P.S. My sister got a Wicked  (nudge nudge. Get it?) umbrella for 20 buckaroos. It’s the best deal down at the merchandise counter.

Leave a Reply

