Brown Sugar

Hey, yinzes,

I hope your Monday wasn’t so bad. I ended up dottling around for 30 minutes waiting for the bus, but at least I had a new pair of shoes to lift my spirits!

So, when I leave work to catch the 75 from the South Side Works, there’s often a bit of down time. Luckily, there are a lot of tempting stores that can occupy me until the next bus: Sur La Table, Urban Outfitters, Aerie, H&M and Goodwill.

Too often waiting for the next bus turns into waiting for the bus that comes after that. On this rainy Monday afternoon, I decided to join my friend for some thrift shopping in the Goodwill store on East Carson Street.  I picked up some cute Western-style booties today. So, I decided to upload pictures mostly to show off the shoes but also to experiment. Yes, this week’s homework  for my photography class is to shoot photos of a constant subject under different light settings. I just used a gooseneck lamp with an incandescent light bulb.  No flash, of course.

The brand is Westies. They’re made in Brazil. I can’t wait to wear them!

I also picked up these darker brown Sofft shoes at Goodwill a couple weeks ago. I moved the lamp more to the right so the lighting wouldn’t be so direct.

If you know me, you know that I love to buy shoes and will spend many pretty pennies for a perfect black staple shoe.  But these baby browns are just so sweet that they might just melt if I step out into the rain. Oh, it’s love!

-Estelle

2 responses

  1. Fantastic find! You have a talent for sniffing out the potential in the Goodwill. Take me shoe shopping?

    September 20, 2011 at 4:24 pm

    • Thanks, pal! I would love to go shoe shopping with you! I’ve been having great shoe karma lately. On Friday, I went into Urban Outfitters and saw this cute little black slingback on display. Not only was it the last pair, it was in my size and only $7 after 30% off. 😉

      September 20, 2011 at 5:01 pm

Leave a Reply

