The Basics

Hey, yinz guys!

Two weeks ago, I started taking basic photography class at Pittsburgh Filmmakers.  My goal for the class is to take better pictures of people. That sounds pretty obvious, but it’s an obstacle for me.  When I took this picture of Chancellor Mark Nordenberg at Pitt Day in Harrisburg, I fiddled with so many settings trying to get the sharpest image in the dimly lit capitol building.  This ran on the front page of the The Pitt News, and it was my first picture to get on the front page.  The only thing that tainted this experience was that I had to take so many shots just to get that one worthy of A1.

My friend, Kate, is taking the class with me. She also has journalistic motivations, as a founder of Rust Wire. Check out these shots of Pittsburgh from a local artist who sees “pretty” in “gritty.”

Here are some of the shots I took as part of my first homework assignment, which taught the basics of ISO, aperture and shutter speed.  Yes, I know these pictures don’t feature people.  I have to overcome my bashfulness to do that.  Anyway, check ’em aht!

Class dismissed.

-Estelle

4 responses

  1. Pingback: Brown sugar | Pixsburgh N'at

  2. Where is the parking meter photo??

    September 21, 2011 at 2:59 pm

    • I’ll put up the two parking meter photos tonight, just for you! They’re pretty profound especially since City Council just announced a brief reprieve for the extended parking enforcement hours.

      September 21, 2011 at 3:22 pm

  3. Pingback: Parking Meters « Pixsburgh N'at

Leave a Reply

